Agenda Item No: 9(b) Report No: 64/15

Report Title: Appointments 2015/16

Report To: Council Date: 20 May 2015

Ward(s) Affected: All

Report By: Leader of the Council Elect

- 1 The political composition of the Council is 24 Conservative, 11 Liberal Democrat, 3 Green, 2 Independent Group and 1 UKIP Councillor.
- The Leader of the Council **Recommends** that the allocation of places between the political groups as shown in Appendix B, subject to the amendments detailed below, be noted and agreed.
- 3 Under Section 15 of the Local Government & Housing Act 1989, the Council has a duty to review the political balance at the Annual Meeting of the Council.

Review Procedure

- The principles for carrying out a review of Committee Proportionality are set out in the Local Government & Housing Act 1989, Section 15(5) extract of the Act set out at Appendix A to this Report.
- **5** Each Group's fraction of membership converts to a percentage as follows:

Conservative Group	<u>24</u> 41	=	58.54%
Liberal Democrat Group	<u>11</u> 41	=	26.83%
Green Group	<u>03</u> 41	=	7.32%
Independent Group	<u>02</u> 41	=	4.88%

- In turn, these percentages convert to representation on the various sizes of the Council's Committees as shown in Appendix B.
- 7 The table in Appendix B calculating the places on individual Committees (Part 1 of Appendix B) shows the following totals:

Conservative Group - 29 places Liberal Democrat Group - 15 places Green Group - 5 places Independent Group - 2 places **8** However, when the total number of Committee places of 51 is subjected to the political group percentages, this gives a total allocation of:

Conservative Group - 30 places (29.85) Liberal Democrat Group - 14 places (13.68) Green Group - 4 places (3.73) Independent Group - 2 places (2.49)

leaving 1 place remaining for the UKIP member Councillor S Barnes. However, a political group can only be treated as being constituted when it comprises two or more members of the Council, and only political groups are entitled to seats on committees. As a single UKIP member, Councillor Barnes does not comprise a political group so is not entitled to seats on committees, so no reallocation of seats need take place.

- It will be seen from paragraphs 7 and 8 above and the Appendix that the Liberal Democrat Group has one more place than it is entitled to, and the Conservative Group should receive one seat. As principle (c) takes precedence over principle (d), it is therefore necessary for the table in Part 1 of Appendix B to be adjusted to allocate one of the Liberal Democrat's Group places to the Conservative Group.
- 10 The Liberal Democrat Group has therefore reallocated a seat on the Audit and Standards Committee to the Conservative Group.
- It will also be seen from paragraphs 7 and 8 above and the Appendix that the Green Group has one more place than it is entitled to. However, on this occasion, no reallocation of seats can take place without increasing committee memberships and the proportionality calculated by applying principle (c) stands.
- When the total number of Other Bodies places of 18 is subjected to the political group percentages, as seen from Part 2 of Appendix B, the Conservative Group has one more place than it is entitled to, and the Independent Group should receive one seat As principle (c) takes precedence over principle (d), it is necessary for the table in Part 2 of Appendix B to be adjusted to allocate one of the Conservative Group's places to the Independent Group.
- The Conservative Group has therefore reallocated a seat on the Landport Bottom Management Committee to the Independent Group.
- The political proportionality rules only apply to ordinary committees, subcommittees and other bodies of the Council. These rules do not apply to the Cabinet. The Licensing Act 2003 and the associated Guidance and Regulations are silent as to whether the Licensing Committee needs to be politically balanced and the Licensing Committee has therefore been included in the calculation in the Appendix.
- As a matter of law, the power to appoint the membership of Cabinet rests with the Leader of the Council. In light of this, the Leader of the Council will announce the appointments to the membership of the Cabinet, the individual areas of responsibility allocated to the Cabinet and the allocation of those areas of responsibility to the members of the Cabinet at the meeting.

The Leader of the Council and the Leaders of the other Political Groups **Recommend** that their own Groups' membership of Committees etc. for the municipal year 2015/2016, based on the political structure and the political balance in the Appendix and taking account of the adjustments referred to above, be as follows:

Proportionality is shown as Conservative – Liberal Democrat – Green – Independent:

Audit and Standards
Committee

Membership 7 (4-2-1-0 becomes 5-1-1-0,

see paragraph 10 above)

N Enever M P Chartier (Chair) A Rowell

I Linington A Loraine R Robertson

VACANT (Cons seat)

(plus up to 3 co-opted, non-voting Town/Parish Council members – participation restricted to Standards matters)

Devolution Committee Membership 7 (4-2-1-0)

A X Smith (Chair) G R Amy J K E Carter

P L Franklin D Cooper

P Gander

E C Merry

J M Harrison-Hicks

Employment Membership 5 (3-2-0-0) **Committee**

I A Nicholson (Chair) S J Gauntlett P L Franklin A Lambert

Licensing Committee Membership 10 (6-3-1-0)

S Adeniji (Chair) M P Chartier S J Murray

W Botting S J Gauntlett
B Bovington S J Osborne

P Gander

J M Harrison-Hicks

D J Neave

Planning Applications Membership 11 (6-3-1-1)

Committee

S B Davy (Chair) G R Amy S J Murray S A Catlin

A T Jones P F Gardiner

I A Nicholson V lent

H J F Sheppard

R Turner L Wallraven

Scrutiny Committee Membership 11 (6-3-1-1)

S Adeniji P F Gardiner (Chair) J K E Carter C R O'Keeffe

N Enever V Ient

J M Harrison-Hicks S J Osborne

I Linington J Peterson C Sugarman

The following Working Party needs to be re-appointed in order to continue the business for which it was originally established:

Housing Working Membership 7 (4-2-1-0)

Party

R Maskell (Chair) M P Chartier A Rowell

B Giles S Saunders

R Robertson R Turner

- 17 The Electoral Review Working Group needs to be re-appointed in order to continue the business for which it was originally established. As an advisory group, it is not subject to the political proportionality rules but it is representative of all political Groups and its membership comprises the Leaders of each political Group.
- The nominations of the Majority Group for the appointment of Chairs (and of the largest Opposition Group for the appointment of the Chairs of the Audit and Standards and Scrutiny Committees) are indicated above and the Leader of the Council **Recommends** that the appointments be approved and that the remaining Chairs be appointed at the first meetings of the bodies concerned.

Councillor R Blackman Leader of the Council Elect 19 May 2015